«Against All Authority» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Against All Authority (often abbreviated -AAA-) was an American punk band, formed in Florida in 1992. Playing in the ska punk style, their business practice follows a stringent DIY ethic.


Against All Authority is founded in Cutler Ridge, Florida in 1992, driven by willingness to promote their message—"questioning our economic differences and promoting our human similarities", as stated by their now defunct official website. A strong engagement in political and social issues is clearly evident in their lyrics. The band maintain a fierce DIY stance influenced by the approach of the Dead Kennedys and Subhumans. Early in their career the band decided to book concerts, make recordings and even produce band t-shirts on their own. Their first release "Above The Law" was released on Far Out Records. Later they signed on independent label Hopeless Records, becoming one of their major bands. In addition to touring and recording, the band is frequently involved in demonstrations and social projects. They have also influenced a number of other bands. Guitar player Joe Koontz has formed a new band called Nobody's Hero, with members of The Vandals and Guajiro. Trombonist Fin Leavell is now fronting the band Nightswim. Drummer Macbeth Proenza also formed a new band called Hit, Play!, with former members of Polly Esther.



  • Danny Lore – Bass and Vocals
  • Joe Koontz – Guitar and Backing Vocals


  • Joey Jewkes - Trumpet
  • Fin Leavell – Trombone
  • Spikey Goldbach – Drums
  • Jeremy Kaiser – Trumpet
  • Tim "FarOut" Pagones - Trombone
  • Tim Coats - Saxophones
  • Kris King - Drums
  • Macbeth Proenza – Drums
  • Jason Lederman – Drums
  • Alan Veronese – Trumpet
  • Marcio "Grim" - Drums
  • Sid Goldberger- Drums


Albums and EPs

  • Above The Law 7" (1994)
  • Less Than Jake/Against All Authority split 7" (1995)
  • Destroy What Destroys You (1996)
  • Reject (split 7" w/ Anti-Flag) (1996)
  • -AAA- & The Pist split 7" (1996)
  • All Fall Down (1998)
  • 24 Hour Roadside Resistance (2000)
  • Exchange split EP w/ The Criminals (2000)
  • Nothing New for Trash Like You (2001)
  • Against All Authority / Common Rider split (2005)
  • The Restoration of Chaos & Order (2006)


  • Operation: Punk Rock Freedom (2003 Hopeless/Sub City Records)
    • "Just an Obstruction"
  • Hopelessly Devoted to You Too Vol. 2 (1998 Hopeless)
    • "Just an Obstruction"
    • "All Fall Down"
  • Hopelessly Devoted to You Vol. 3 (2000 Hopeless)
    • "Pestilent Existence"
    • "In On Your Joke"
  • Hopelessly Devoted to You Vol. 4 (2002 Hopeless)
    • "Dinkas When I Close My Eyes"
    • "Out A Luck"
  • Warped Tour 2002 (2002 SideOneDummy)
    • "Mr. International"
  • Hopelessly Devoted to You Vol. 5 (2004 Hopeless)
    • "Wet Foot Policy"
  • Hopelessly Devoted to You Vol. 6 (2006 Hopeless)
    • "Radio Waves"
    • "Pestilent Existence"
    • "Dinkas When I Close My Eyes"
  • Ska Is Dead (2007 Asian Man)
    • "Silence Is Golden but Duct Tape Is Silver"
  • Take Action: A Punk Rock Sampler Benefitting the Foundation Fighting Blindness (1999 Sub City)
    • "That Way"
  • Punk Uprisings Vol. 2 (1997 Go-kart)
    • "Hard as Fuck"


External links

  • on Myspace
  • discography at Discogs