«Alex Goot» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Alexander George Gut (Poughkeepsie, March 15, 1988) is a singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist from New York. Goot grew rapidly through the channel lists YouTube Top 200 with his covers of famous songs and his original songs. His channel, GootMusic, is among the over 70 registered with more than one million subscribers. He plays acoustic guitar, bass guitar, piano, drums and other instruments.

Biography and career

My goals have been to reach as many people as possible with my music, and enhance peoples' lives by making music that they can enjoy any time.

Goot began recording music in 2004 at the age of 16 and since then has gained popularity from his profiles on various social network sites, as well as his own website, from which he distributes some of his music and provides news and regular updates. His time is almost all spent in his home studio self-producing all audio and video for his releases, or touring the world.

Goot released his first studio album In Your Atmosphere, which was made possible by his fans via an extremely successful KickStarter campaign. He is the example of celebrity in the YouTube age; self-driven, self-promoting, aside from his musicianship, relying on modern messaging and technology to get heard. His YouTube channel has about 1.700.000 subscribers and his videos have been viewed over 200 million times.

According to Goot, his inspiration is to show the love he has for music. He further states that he "had no plan B".

Goot has a habit of making videos in collaboration with other artists such as We Are the In Crowd,Kurt Hugo Schneider, Megan Nicole,Sam Tsui and Against The Current.

Goot has released three volumes of Songs I Wish I Wrote with some of the versions of his channel on YouTube.


Studio albums of original songs

  • 2005: 158 (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2008: Arranged Noise (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2012: In Your Atmosphere

Studio albums of cover songs

  • 2010: Songs I Wish I Wrote
  • 2011: Songs I Wish I Wrote, Vol. 2
  • 2011: Songs I Wish I Wrote, Vol. 3
  • 2012: Alex Goot & Friends, Vol. 1
  • 2012: Alex Goot & Friends, Vol. 2
  • 2014: Alex Goot & Friends, Vol. 3


  • 2007: Asleep At The Wheel (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2008: Progress - EP (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2009: Take Cover (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2009: Read My Mind (released under the artist name “Goot”)
  • 2010: Sensitivity EP
  • 2014: Wake Up Call


  • 2010: Breathless
  • 2010: Next Christmas Eve
  • 2011: Pretty Eyes
  • 2011: Sensitivity

Awards and nominations

Year Award Category Work nominated Results Sou.
2011 MTV O Music Awards I Best Fan Cover Hold It Against Me(Britney Spears) Won
2013 3rd Streamy Awards Best Original Song Lightning Nominated