«Amy Holland» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Amy Holland (born Amy Boersma on August 15, 1953) is an American pop rock singer. She is of Dutch descent and changed her name from Boersma to Holland (after her ancestors' origin country), because she thought it would make a better stage name. Her mother was country star Esmereldy and her father was opera singer Harry Boersma. Holland's self-titled album, produced by the Doobie Brothers lead vocalist Michael McDonald (who became her husband three years later), was released in 1980 and featured the hit "How Do I Survive", which peaked at #22 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart. She was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best New Artist in 1981. A second album called On Your Every Word followed in 1983, featuring the single "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing"/"You're All I Need to Get By" with Chris Christian, which peaked at #88 on the Billboard Hot 100. That same year she landed two songs on the soundtrack to the film Scarface. One of the songs Holland recorded for Scarface, "She's on Fire", was also used in Grand Theft Auto 3. She later married Michael McDonald and sang backup vocals on his records, in addition to singing backup on records by bands such as First Call.

Holland and McDonald had two children named Dylan (born in 1987) and Scarlett (born in 1991) and they moved to Nashville, Tennessee.

In 2008, Holland released The Journey to Miracle River on Chonin Records. Produced by long-time friend Bernie Chiaravalle (singer/guitarist for Michael McDonald since 1988) the album was recorded in Nashville over an 8-year period. Holland co-wrote 10 of the 12 songs with Chiaravalle along with other writers John Goodwin, Jon Vezner, and Michael McDonald. Other songs were also penned by Robben Ford and Chazz Frichtel. Musicians include Bernie Chiaravalle (guitar, bass, keys, drums and vocals), Shannon Forrest (drums), Vince Gill (vocals), Michael McDonald (keys, vocals), John Deaderick (keys), Tim Akers (keys), Stuart Duncan (violin), Tim Lorsch (violin), Dylan McDonald (vocals) and Dylan Morrison (bass). There have been requests for a fourth album, and Holland said on her Facebook that she will make a new album.



  • Amy Holland (Capitol Records, 1980) U.S. #146
  • On Your Every Word (Capitol Records, 1983) (re-released by EMI in 2005)
  • The Journey to Miracle River (Chonin Records, 2008)

Soundtrack Recordings

  • Scarface (1983) — "Turn out the Night" (miscredited as "Turn out the Light") and "She's on Fire"
  • Night of the Comet (1984) — "Learn to Love Again" (duet with Chris Farren)
  • Teen Wolf (1985) — "Shooting for the Moon"
  • St. Elmo's Fire (1985) — "For Just a Moment (Love Theme from St. Elmo's Fire)" (duet with Donny Gerrard)
  • Square Dance (1987) — "Home"
  • The Lion of Africa (1987) — "Nothin' We Can Do" (duet with Chris Farren)
  • K-9 (1989) — "Iko Iko"
  • One Life to Live (1994) — "All I Know" (duet with Michael McDonald)

Television appearances

  • Young Oh! Oh! (1980) — "How Do I Survive"
  • Solid Gold (1980) — "How Do I Survive"
  • Auf Los Geht's Los (1980) — "Strengthen My Love", "How Do I Survive", "Stars"
  • Toppop 1980 - "How Do I Survive", "Never Give Up", "Stars"
  • Music Fair (1980) — "How Do I Survive"
  • American Bandstand (1983) - "On Your Every Word", "Shake Me, Wake Me (When It's Over)"