«Coverdale/Page» - biography, albums, songs, video clips


For the album of the same name, see Coverdale•Page (album).

Coverdale•Page was a musical collaboration featuring Whitesnake and former Deep Purple lead vocalist David Coverdale, and former Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page.

The project between the two artists commenced in 1991 at the suggestion of American A&R executive John Kalodner, as both artists were signed to Geffen Records at the time in North America. Their debut album, Coverdale/Page was released on 15 March 1993, reaching No. 4 in the UK and No. 5 on the US Billboard 200 chart. Five singles were released to promote the album: "Pride and Joy", "Shake My Tree", "Take Me for a Little While", "Take a Look at Yourself" and "Over Now".

The album was certified Gold by the RIAA for sales of the LP, CD & Cassette in excess of 500,000 copies and eventually went Platinum. The album also received the official Japanese Sony Music in-house award for sales in excess of 150,000 copies in Japan as well as the EMI in-house sales award for sales in excess of 60,000 copies in the UK.

It has been rumoured that Page collaborated with Coverdale in order to irk Page's former Led Zeppelin bandmate Robert Plant, who up to that point had been reluctant to reunite with Page. In interviews at the time, Plant expressed some derision at the guitarist's collaboration with Coverdale.

An American arena tour was planned for the summer of 1993, but after sluggish ticket sales the tour was scrapped in favour of a series of concerts in Japan, after which the partnership was dissolved. Page subsequently teamed up with Plant for an "UnLedded" MTV project and Coverdale returned to Whitesnake.


  • David Coverdale - lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Jimmy Page - electric guitars, bass, harmonica, dulcimer, backing vocals
Additional musicians
  • Denny Carmassi - drums, percussion (album and tour)
  • Lester Mendel - keyboards, percussion
  • Jorge Casas - bass
  • Ricky Phillips - bass
  • John Harris - harmonica
  • Tommy Funderburk - backing vocals
  • John Sambataro - backing vocals
  • Brett Tuggle - keyboards, backing vocals (tour)
  • Guy Pratt - bass, backing vocals (tour)



  • Coverdale•Page (1993) - UK No. 4; U.S. No. 5


Year Single Chart Position Chart Position
1993 "Pride and Joy" U.S. Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks 1 UK Singles Chart -
1993 "Shake My Tree" U.S. Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks 3 UK Singles Chart -
1993 "Take Me for a Little While" U.S Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks 15 UK Singles Chart 29
1993 "Over Now" U.S. Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks 24 UK Singles Chart -
1993 "Take a Look at Yourself" U.S Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks - UK Singles Chart 43

See also

  • Deep Purple
  • Led Zeppelin
  • Whitesnake
  • The Yardbirds