«Ill Niño» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Ill Niño is an American "Latin Metal" band formed in New Jersey in early 2000. The group currently consists of lead vocalist Cristian Machado, drummer Dave Chavarri , bassist Lazaro "Laz" Pina, lead guitarist Ahrue Luster, guitarist Diego Verduzco, and percussionist Oscar Santiago. They are currently signed to Victory Records globally and AFM Records exclusively in UK & Europe. Ill Niño has always has branded their original style known as "Latin Metal". They have released 6 studio albums and 2 EP’s, and 1 best of, selling over 1.3 million albums worldwide.


The band formed in 1998 by drummer Dave Chavarri as a "Latino Hardcore" group, then calling themselves "El Niño" with initial line-up including Jorge Rosado (Merauder), guitarist Marc Rizzo, Christian Machado on bass, and drummer Dave Chavarri (Soulfly, Pro-Pain, M.O.D.). In 1999 the band parted ways with J. Rosado, and decided on having Machado take over lead vocals, and brought in Chavarri's childhood friend Lazaro "Laz" Pina (BroomHellda, Shang Hi-Fi) to take over on bass guitar. As the band finished their first EP, produced & mixed by Dave Chavarri, and recorded at Laz's recording studio, Ill Niño was ready, and looking to ink their 1st recording contract.

The band soon looked to create the ideal line up, composed of local players, Newark's Brazilian guitarist, Jardel Paisante and NYC, Latino percussionist Roger Vasquez. El Niño soon changed their name to Ill Niño and released a self-titled EP in 2000. The buzz on the NY/NJ metal scene was so strong that it scored them heavy rotation with multiple songs on Seton Hall University's WSOU Pirate Radio. The band was quickly signed thereafter by Roadrunner Records.

On September 18, 2001 Ill Niño released their debut album, Revolution…Revolución. In support of the album's release Niño toured intensively for 19 out of 24 months straight, throughout America, and overseas; Europe, UK, and Japan. Notably being a part of the U.S. RoadRage Tour with Machine Head & Fear Factory, and landing prestigious tours such as: Ozzfest, Jägermeister tour, Germany's Rock Am Ring/ Rock Im Park, Spain's Festimad Festival, UK's Download Festival, Holland's Dynamo Festival, Belgium's Grasspop, etc. The album's single, "What Comes Around," received significant airplay on MTV and top 20 Active Rock radio charts, selling over 450,000 albums worldwide. In 2002, the band's vocalist Cristian Machado performed on Soulfly's song 'One', off the band's third album 3, sharing lead vocal duties with Max Cavalera.

In early 2003, right before Ill Niño was set to record the follow-up to Revolution Revolución, Ill Niño parted ways with guitarist Marc Rizzo and percussionist Roger Vasquez. Soon after their departure, Ill Niño recruited lead guitarist Ahrue Luster (ex-Machine Head) and Brazilian percussionist Danny Couto.

Confession, was released on September 30, 2003. The album debuted at No. 37 on the Billboard 200 charts. The lead single, "How Can I Live," featured on the Freddy vs. Jason soundtrack, was subsequently their first single to break into the Billboard charts, peaking at No. 26 on the mainstream rock charts. Upon the release of Confession, the band achieves headlining status and embarked on the RoadRunner's Road Rage Tour in Europe, as well as headlining stages all over the globe in South America, Vive Latino Festival in Mexico twice, Europe, UK, Australia, and Japan. Confession goes to sell more than 550,000 copies worldwide.

The band's third effort, One Nation Underground, was released on September 27, 2005. The album debuted at No. 101 on the Billboard 200 charts, and first single “What You Deserve” becomes No. 1 Most Added track at Active Rock radio after it impacted, and reaches the Top 20 on the Active Rock charts.

On July 15, 2006 Ill Nino parts with Roadrunner Records, Ill Nino states “the split with Roadrunner was amicable, but a needed step in the band’s career. Nine days later, Ill Niño signs a new deal with the recently formed Cement Shoes Records. Towards the end of the One Nation underground touring cycle, the Jardel Paisante steps down, desiring to be home with family, and no longer tour. Jardel is replaced by band friend, Diego Verduzco.

That same year, Roadrunner Records releases The Best of Ill Niño on September 29, 2006 as part of the contractual obligation to Roadrunner Records, and without the band's consent or involvement. The album features 13 tracks from all 3 Roadrunner releases.

In March 2010, the band announced that they had inked a deal with Victory Records, would be in the studio in April, and that the album would be produced by Ill Nino. Co-Production would come from Sahaj Ticotin (RA) and Clint Lowery of Sevendust. Dead New World was released on October 25, 2010. The band performs headlining tours of Europe, U.S., Russia, and Australia in February and March, 2011 as part of the Soundwave Festival.

In February 2012, Ill Niño announced that they are preparing to enter the studio to begin recording its sixth full-length album for a summer release via Victory Records. The band recorded their upcoming album in Hoboken, New Jersey; Austin, Texas; and Denver, Colorado. Ill Nino's sixth full-length studio album, "Epidemia", was released on October 22, 2012.

On October 1, 2013, the band announced the departure of percussionist Daniel Couto, with Oscar Santiago joined the band as his replacement.

Ill Niño has performed at many worldwide prestigious festivals:



Ill Niño are described as latin metal,alternative metal,nu metal. and metalcore.

Band Personnel

Current members

  • Cristian Machado – lead vocals (2000–present), bass (1998–2000)
  • Dave Chavarri – drums (1998–present)
  • Lazaro Pina – bass (2000–present)
  • Ahrue Luster – lead guitar (2003–present)
  • Diego Verduzco – rhythm guitar (2006–present)
  • Oscar Santiago – percussion (2013–present)

Former Members

  • Jorge Rosado – vocals (1998–2000)
  • Marc Rizzo – lead guitar (1998–2003)
  • Jardel Martins Paisante – rhythm guitar (1999–2006)
  • Roger Vasquez – percussion (2000–2003)
  • Daniel Couto – percussion (2003–2013)

Guest Members

  • DJ Pookie – keyboards/turntables/electronics on self-titled EP
  • Omar Clavijo – keyboards/turntables/electronics (For all studio recordings after self-titled)
  • Max Illidge – vocals on "Have You Ever Felt?"
  • Chino Moreno - vocals on "Zombie Eaters" (Faith no More cover)
  • Mikey Doling – guitar on "Two (Vaya Con Dios)"
  • Jamey Jasta – vocals on "Turns to Gray"
  • Frankie Palmeri – vocals on "La Epidemia"



  • Revolution Revolución (2001)
  • Confession (2003)
  • One Nation Underground (2005)
  • Enigma (2008)
  • Dead New World (2010)
  • Epidemia (2012)
  • Till Death, La Familia (2014)


External links

  • on Myspace