«Mstrkrft» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

MSTRKRFT (pronounced "Master-craft") is a Canadian electronic music duo from Toronto. The group was started in 2005 by Jesse F. Keeler of Death from Above 1979 and Al-P (Alex Puodziukas) formerly of the Mississauga, Ontarioelectropop group Girlsareshort. Al-P was also the producer for Death from Above 1979's album You're a Woman, I'm a Machine as well as several of (Jesse's former band) Black Cat #13's records. The duo have been close friends, as well as work partners, for a long time. MSTRKRFT also produced Die Mannequin's first EP, How to Kill, and Magneta Lane's second LP, Dancing With Daggers.

MSTRKRFT have been commissioned to remix songs by such artists as Death From Above 1979, Kylie Minogue, Katy Perry, Justice, Bloc Party, Ayumi Hamasaki, Metric, Wolfmother,Annie and The Kills.


Their first single was "Easy Love", released in 2006 on Last Gang Records. They released their second single, "Work On You", on July 6. In contrast to the "Easy Love" music video, "Work On You" featured animated robots, similar to those found in classic cartoons (see: Voltron, Transformers ). Although The Looks is MSTRKRFT's first album featuring original content, the band has created remixes from a variety of other artists ranging from Buck 65 to The Kills to Death from Above 1979.

MSTRKRFT released their first LP, The Looks, on July 18, 2006 in the United States and February 2, 2007 in Britain. Keeler and Al-P told Eye Weekly weeks before the release of The Looks, that as the album was being finished, the planning stages for a follow-up record had already begun. Describing the upcoming album's new direction, Al-P said that the album would be "darker, underground disco and house with elements of American rock music."

The 2007 version of their song "Street Justice" was also released as a single. On the band's website message board, Keeler mentioned they were also working on a compilation album composed of their remixed tracks. Street Justice was also featured on the THQ action game, Saints Row 2. Neon Knights was also featured on Need For Speed: Pro Street, their remix for Justices' D.A.N.C.E. was featured in the movie Meet The Spartans, and "Work on You" was featured in Dirt 2.

Their song "Paris" was featured in a 2006 commercial for the online music store URGE. In 2007 MSTRKRFT appeared at the WEMF World Electronic Music Festival.

In September 2007 MSTRKRFT performed at an Australian spring music festival "Parklife" in Brisbane. They performed their remix of the song "Woman" from Modular label mates Wolfmother. Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother appeared on stage and sang live while MSTRKRFT performed the remix.

In 2008 through Obeygiant.com released a mix cd with Z-Trip. In conjunction with this CD, Obey offered the Art work print, entitled Soundclash of the Titans. On May 24, 2008 MSTRKRFT were featured on the famous BBC Radio 1 show, The Essential Mix. MSTRKRFT later performed at the 2008 Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival, which included a diverse group of artists ranging from Metallica to Jack Johnson.

In 2009, their remix of "Woman" by Wolfmother was featured in the film Lesbian Vampire Killers. On March 17, 2009, MSTRKRFT released their second LP, Fist of God. All songs were written by Jesse F. Keeler and Al-P. Initial critical response has been average at best, with major periodicals Spin, Rolling Stone, and Blender giving the album less-than-stellar reviews. The album features guest appearances by John Legend, E-40, N.O.R.E., and Lil' Mo, among others.

In 2011 they released two new singles "Beards Again" and "Back in the USSA" off their untitled third LP.

Their song "Beards Again" was featured on the Injustice: Gods Among Us video game soundtrack in 2013.

Band name

The band took out the vowels from their name in order to avoid trademark infringement with Mastercraft, a Canadian tools company. The 'C' was changed to a 'K' in order to maintain the pronunciation and image of the original name.



Title Details Peak chart positions
US Dance
The Looks
  • Release date: July 18, 2006
  • Label: Last Gang Records
  • Formats: Digital download
Fist of God
  • Release date: March 17, 2009
  • Label: Dim Mak Records
  • Formats: Digital download
  • Release date: TBA
  • Label: Dim Mak Records
  • Formats: Digital download
"—" denotes releases that did not chart


Year Single Peak chart positions Album
U.S. Dance
2006 "Easy Love" The Looks
"Work On You"
2007 "Street Justice"
2008 "Bounce" 75 14 Fist of God
2009 "Heartbreaker" (featuring John Legend) 63 53 50
2011 "Beards Again" TBA
"Back in the USSA"
"—" denotes releases that did not chart


Songs that MSTRKRFT have remixed include:

  • Panthers – "Thank Me With Your Hands"
  • Felix Cartal – "Love" (JFK Remix)
  • Death from Above 1979 – "Little Girl"
  • Death from Above 1979 – "Sexy Results"
  • Juliette and the Licks – "Got Love To Kill"
  • Annie – "Heartbeat"
  • Metric – "Monster Hospital"
  • Services – "Elements of Danger"
  • Bloc Party – "Two More Years"
  • Buck 65 – "Kennedy Killed The Hat"
  • Wolfmother – "Woman"
  • Polysics – "Ceolakanth Is Android"
  • The Kills – "No Wow"
  • Gossip – "Listen Up!"
  • Revl9n – "Someone Like You"
  • Para One – "Dudun-Dun"
  • Brazilian Girls – "Jique"
  • Acid Jacks – "Awake Since 78"
  • All Saints – "Rock Steady"
  • Armand Van Helden – "NYC Beat"
  • D.I.M. – "Airbus" (JFK Remix)
  • Justice – "D.A.N.C.E."
  • Goose – "Bring It On" (JFK Remix)
  • Space Cowboy – "Running Away" (JFK Remix)
  • Chromeo – "Tenderoni" (Al-P Remix)
  • The Crystal Method – "Keep Hope Alive"
  • D.I.M – "Is You" (JFK Remix)
  • Kid Sister – "Control" (JFK Remix)
  • Mr Miyagi – "Pick Your Poison" (JFK Remix)
  • New Young Pony Club – "Get Lucky"
  • Bloc Party – "Flux" (JFK Remix)
  • Kylie Minogue – "Wow"
  • Ayumi Hamasaki – "Beautiful Fighters" (Al-P MSTRKRFT Remix)
  • Jesse McCartney – "Leavin'" (JFK Remix)
  • Usher – "Love in This Club"
  • Thunderheist – "Jerk It" (Nasty Nav + JFK Remix)
  • John Legend + André 3000 – "Green Light"
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs – "Zero"
  • FACT[] – "Los Angeles" (AL-P Remix)
  • Keri Hilson – "Turnin' Me On (feat. Lil Wayne)"
  • Laidback Luke – "Till Tonight (feat. Jonathan Mendelsohn)"
  • Mike Post, Pete Carpenter – "Theme From The A-Team" (AL-P Remix)
  • Katy Perry - "California Gurls"
  • Kelis - "Scream & Shout" (AL-P Remix)
  • Rye Rye & M.I.A. - "Sunshine" (JFK Remix)

See also

  • Death from Above 1979
  • Femme Fatale (band)
  • List of bands from Canada
  • Last Gang Records


External links

  • on Myspace
  • The MSTRKRFT Moment