«PVT» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

PVT is an experimental rock band based in London and Sydney.


PVT are a 3-piece band based in London and Sydney. They are currently signed to Brooklyn imprint and have released on Warp Records in the past. Band members are Richard Pike, Laurence Pike and Dave Miller. Brothers Richard and Laurence grew up in Sydney, later meeting Dave Miller who originally comes from Perth, Australia.

In 2010, the group decided to remove the vowels from their name Pivot after a legal claim was made from an American band of the same name. Although in print it is 'PVT', the band can legally be called Pivot in all territories outside USA. Richard Pike said "It was frustrating and kind of ridiculous, but it became quickly obvious that it was a legal battle in the US we may not even win, and one we just couldn’t afford to lose. So in the end, we weren't fazed by it. Altering the name just seemed to be another step in the process for the record to come out and be heard… At the end of the day it’s small change..."


PVT formed as Pivot, a purely improvisational 5-piece band, in Sydney 1999 by brothers Richard Pike and Laurence Pike. The band spent the subsequent four years developing their sound and working on their debut album, with guitarist Richard Pike producing.

PVT, then going by the name Pivot, released their debut album, Make Me Love You, in August 2005. It was well regarded, receiving widespread radio support on alternative radio and being nominated for a J Award by national youth broadcaster Triple J. The band added Perth (and now London) electronica artist Dave Miller in late 2005, omitting the old members from their line up and becoming a three piece.

In 2008, PVT signed to UK label Warp Records. In 2012, PVT signed to .

Their first EP In the Blood was released (as Pivot) in May in the UK, Europe and Australia. The music video was directed by Alexander Orlando Smith (Coldplay, Futureheads).

O Soundtrack My Heart (also released under the name Pivot) was released in August in Australia, the UK and Europe. It was tracked at BJB Studios Sydney, Australia, with Scott Horscroft, and mixed with John McEntire (Tortoise/The Sea and Cake), at Soma Electronic Music Studios in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

O Soundtrack My Heart was given the honour of 'Sydney Album of the Decade' for the 2000s, by FBi Radio, Sydney.

2008 saw the band tour relentlessly across Europe and the UK. Notable shows included an appearance at 2008 Meltdown with Yellow Magic Orchestra, Glastonbury and invitations from Arctic Monkeys, Sigur Rós and Gary Numan to support on Australian tours.

The band has been known to cover Talking Heads' "I Zimbra" live using live sampling to replicate up to 12 parts, and included a live version of the song on the B-side of their "O Soundtrack My Heart" tour-only 7".

PVT were invited to perform as part of the Brian Eno curated Luminous Festival at the Sydney Opera House in June 2009, and were then also working on the completion of their third studio release, Church With No Magic, with engineer Burke Reid in Sydney.

In 2009 they contributed a cover of the Grizzly Bear song "Colorado" to the Warp20 (Recreated) compilation, as well as having their song "Fool In Rain" covered by Scott Herren's 'Diamond Watch Wrists'.

They released the album Church With No Magic under their new name 'PVT' in July/August 2010. After the album's release, the popular music site Stereogum featured PVT as a Band To Watch.

In 2012, the band performed as part of the Vivid Live Festival at the Sydney Opera House. They were also announced as the support for Gotye's arena tour of Australia in December.

PVT signed to Australian independent record label Create/Control in 2012 and released their 4th album Homosapien on 8 February 2013 in Australia and New Zealand.


  • Richard Pike - vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, production
  • Laurence Pike - drums, keyboards, percussion
  • Dave Miller - laptop, production

Laurence Pike was also the founder of the now disbanded The Leaf Label group Triosk, and has recorded and performed with Savath and Savalas, Prefuse 73, Qua, Bill Callahan, Jack Ladder, Flanger and jazz veteran Mike Nock, as well as a solo drum 10" release under the name Laurenz Pike for Berlin's Monika Enterprise label.

Richard Pike recorded and toured with Flanger on vocals and guitar. He has also produced two records for Triosk.

Dave Miller and Laurence Pike have a side-project called Roam the Hello Clouds released on the ~scape label. Dave Miller has released solo records through German Background Records and others.



  • Make Me Love You (2005)
  • O Soundtrack My Heart (2008)
  • Church With No Magic (2010)
  • Homosapien (2013)


  • In the Blood 12" single / EP (2008)
  • Window digital only EP with Remixes (2010)
  • Light Up Bright Fires digital only EP with Remixes (2010)


External links

  • on Myspace