«Strange Talk» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Strange Talk is an Australian synthpop band from Melbourne, Victoria, consisting of Gerard Sidhu, Stephen Docker, Travis Constable and Gillan Gregory. The band was formed in February 2010 by friends Gerard and Stephen, who write both the lyrics and the music. Their sound has been likened to that of Cut Copy, Passion Pit, Phoenix and Yeasayer.

The band launched into the public eye when they rose to top as a feature artist during the 2010 Triple J Unearthed competition. In April 2011 they released their self-titled EP through Neon Gold Records and Fine Time Records which featured singles "Climbing Walls" and "Eskimo Boy".

The band reached number one on Billboard's Uncharted chart for 17 September 2011. As the music video that accompanies the tune reached almost 400,000 YouTube views between August and September.

Strange Talk's debut studio album, Cast Away, was released on 8 February 2013 by Fine Time and Sony Music Australia. It charted at number fifty-six on the Australian Albums Chart.

The band has supported international acts The Rapture and Art vs. Science and performed alongside many others at Parklife, Good Vibrations, Playground Weekender, Future Music Festival, and Falls Festival.

The band signed with Wind-up Records for the rest of the world and will release their debut album Cast Away in 2014.


  • Gerard Sidhu – bass
  • Stephen Docker – vocals, keyboard
  • Travis Constable – drums
  • Gillan Gregory – guitar, keyboard


Strange Talk's music has featured in television shows such as 90210, Offspring, Made in Chelsea' and The Shire.

The song "Morning Sun" was featured in a commercial for a Polish soft drinks company, Tymbark

The song "Climbing Walls" was featured on the soundtrack for the video game Sleeping Dogs.

The song "Cast Away" was featured on the soundtrack for the video game Need For Speed: Most Wanted.

In April 2012 Strange Talk performed at the Emporio Armani store launch in Sydney.

The song "Morning Sun" was featured on the soundtrack for the movie That Awkward Moment.

The song "Young Hearts" was featured as the underlying music of Snapchat's video showcasing its newest update on May 1, 2014.


Studio albums
  • Cast Away (2013)
  • Strange Talk (2011)
  • "Eskimo Boy" (2011)
  • "Climbing Walls" (2011)
  • "Sexual Lifestyle" (2011)
  • "Cast Away" (2012)
  • "Falling in Love" (2012)
  • "Young Hearts" (2014)
  • The Naked and Famous – "Young Blood" (2011)
  • Muscles – "Girls Go Crazy" (2011)
  • The Temper Trap – "Trembling Hands" (2012)
  • Foster the People – "I Would Do Anything for You" (2012)


External links

  • at Fine Time Records