«The Plimsouls» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

For the British training shoe, see Plimsoll shoe.

The Plimsouls are an American rock band formed in Paramount, California in 1978.


Formed by singer, guitarist and songwriter Peter Case (who had previously fronted power pop band The Nerves), the Plimsouls began as a trio in 1978, initially named The Tone Dogs, which included Case, bassist Dave Pahoa and drummer Louie Ramírez. From inception, the band quickly became a crowd favorite in the Los Angeles club scene. Long Beach promoter Stephen Zepeda signed the group to his Beat Records label for a five-song EP called Zero Hour. Guitarist Eddie Muñoz joined the group during the recording of the EP.

Danny Holloway produced the Zero Hour EP and managed the group. The song "Zero Hour" received heavy airplay on KROQ-FM, and the Plimsouls grew to be one of the top club draws in the city. Case received critical praise for his songwriting. In 1981, Planet Records (with distribution through Elektra) signed the group and released their self-titled debut album which Holloway also produced. A single, "Now", received strong local airplay in LA. "Now" was also covered by power-pop legend Phil Seymour and appears on the 2011 CD edition of his second album. Phil also appeared live with the Plimsouls during the late 1970s both as a guest vocalist and as an artist on the same bill.

Second album/Valley Girl

The band achieved national popularity in 1983 when the single release "A Million Miles Away" was included on Valley Girl's motion picture soundtrack and became a minor hit. The band, which also appeared on camera in the film performing the song and parts of two others, quickly re-recorded the song for inclusion on a second album, Everywhere At Once, produced by Jeff Eyrich, but broke up shortly after. Several years later, in 1990, a then up-and-coming band named the Goo Goo Dolls covered "A Million Miles Away" on their Hold Me Up album. The song is also included on the Speed motion picture soundtrack.


Case has continued with a solo career since the band's mid-1980s breakup. In 1996, The Plimsouls, without Ramirez, reunited for a few shows and some recording sessions, resulting in a little-heard reunion album called Kool Trash. This album featured drumming by new band member Clem Burke, who was also simultaneously a member of Blondie . The Plimsouls have continued to reunite occasionally since that time, with Burke being replaced by Bryan Head.



  • Zero Hour (1980 Beat Records)
  1. "Great Big World" (2:55)
  2. "Zero Hour" (2:30)
  3. "Hypnotized" (2:53)
  4. "How Long Will it Take?" (2:49)
  5. "I Can't Turn You Loose" (3:15)

Studio albums

  • The Plimsouls (1981 Planet Records) U.S. No. 153
  1. "Lost Time" (3:41)
  2. "Now" (2:57)
  3. "In This Town" (2:36)
  4. "Zero Hour" (2:30)
  5. "Women" (2:50)
  6. "Hush, Hush" (2:34)
  7. "I Want What You Got" (3:25)
  8. "Nickels and Dimes" (3:05)
  9. "I Want You Back" (2:33)
  10. "Mini-Skirt Minnie" (2:42)
  11. "Everyday Things" (2:29)
  • Everywhere at Once (1983 Geffen Records) U.S. No. 186
  1. "Shaky City" (2:27)
  2. "Magic Touch" (3:19)
  3. "Oldest Story in the World" (3:19)
  4. "Lie, Beg, Borrow, and Steal" (2:45)
  5. "Play the Breaks" (4:17)
  6. "How Long Will it Take?" (2:30)
  7. "A Million Miles Away" (3:34)
  8. "My Life Ain't Easy" (2:37)
  9. "Inch By Inch" (2:35)
  10. "I'll Get Lucky" (2:42)
  11. "Everywhere at Once" (3:19)
  • Kool Trash (1998 Fuel 2000/Shaky City Records)
  1. "Playing With Jack" (3:15)
  2. "Feeling Strange" (3:12)
  3. "Down" (4:23)
  4. "Falling Awake" (4:24)
  5. "Pile Up" (3:26)
  6. "12 O'Clock Midnight" (5:30)
  7. "Kool Trash" (3:48)
  8. "Lost" (4:09)
  9. "Dangerous Book" (3:29)
  10. "Not of This World" (3:41)

Live Albums

  • One Night in America (1988)
  • Live! Beg, Borrow & Steal (2010)
  • Beach Town Confidential (live 1983) (2012)

Guest Appearances

  • "He Put The Bomp in The Bomp" Tribute to Greg Shaw- COMP CD (2007)


  • "Now" / "When You Find Out" (1981), Planet
  • "A Million Miles Away" / "I'll Get Lucky" (1982), Shaky City
  • "A Million Miles Away" / "Play the Breaks" (1983), Geffen - US no. 82