«The Young Gods» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

For the Marvel Comics group, see Young Gods (comics). Young Gods is also the name of an album by the rock band Little Angels. For the movie from Finland see Young Gods (film)

The Young Gods (TYG) are a Swiss post-industrial band from Fribourg. The band's lineup consisted of a trio composed by a vocalist, a keyboardist / sampler operator and a drummer. In 2007, a fourth member joined the band. Their instrumentation often includes sampled electric guitars, drums, keyboards, and other samples. The lyrics are written in English, French and German.


Their name is taken from an early EP by the no wave/noise rock band Swans. Artists influenced by The Young Gods include Mike Patton, Sepultura, The Edge (as stated in U2 by U2), Devin Townsend, Ithak, Econoline Crush and David Bowie; asked in 1995 if his album Outside was influenced by Nine Inch Nails, Bowie answered: "The band that I was actually quite taken with was three guys from Switzerland called The Young Gods... I’d been aware of them previous to knowing about Nine Inch Nails."

Roli Mosimann of Swans has worked with the group as a producer. In 2007 they did a Take-Away Show acoustic video session. Notable hits are: "Did You Miss Me?", "Envoyé!", "Longue Route", "Skinflowers", and "Kissing the Sun".

In December 2012, The Young Gods give a small series of concerts to celebrate the 25th anniversary of their first album (1987). The group will play songs from their first two albums ("The Young Gods" and "L'eau rouge"). The line-up will be Franz Treichler (vocals), Bernard Trontin (drums) and Cesare Pizzi (samplers).


Previous and current members are:

  • Vocals: Franz Treichler (aka Franz Muse, the only constant member)
  • Keyboard: Cesare Pizzi (former member), Alain Monod (aka Al Comet, current member)
  • Drums: Patrice Bagnoud (aka Frank Bagnoud, former member), Urs "Üse" Hiestand (former member), Bernard Trontin (current member)
  • Guitar, bass guitar, electronics: Vincent Hänni (current member)


Studio albums
Title Year Label
The Young Gods 1987 Wax Trax!
L'Eau Rouge 1989 Play It Again Sam
Play Kurt Weill 1991 Play It Again Sam
T.V. Sky 1992 Play It Again Sam
Only Heaven 1995 Interscope Records
Heaven Deconstruction 1996 Play It Again Sam
Second Nature 2000 Ipecac
Music for Artificial Clouds 2004 Intoxygene, Make Up
Super Ready/Fragmenté 2007 Ipecac
Everybody Knows 2010 Two Gentlemen


External links