«Van She» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Van She is an electropop band formed in 2002 in Sydney, Australia, with Matt Van Schie (pronounced Van Ski) on bass guitar/vocals, Tomek Archer on drums/sequencer, Michael Di Francesco on synth/guitar and Nicholas Routledge on vocals/guitar. The band's debut album, V was released on the Australian label Modular Recordings in August 2008, which peaked at #10 on the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) album charts. Their label introduced them as a "new band from Sydney fresh on ideas, fresher than Flavor Flav, fresh like coriander, fresher than the Fresh Prince, fresher than fresh eggs." Despite these claims, the band began with a sound very much rooted in the 1980s, heavy on synthesizer, although later material reflects a more textured sound. They also do remixes of other artists' work both under their own name and as the offshoot, Van She Technologic.


Van She began in 2005 when band members Nick Routledge, Matt Van Schie, Michael Di Francesco, and Tomek Archer all met through mutual friends at a club called Bang Gang in Sydney. In 2005 Van She released their self-titled, much hyped debut EP, Van She, on Modular Recordings including the single Sex City, which was in turn sampled by Crystal Castles on their album Crystal Castles (18 March 2008) – Lies Records / Last Gang Records. After touring with Yeah Yeah Yeahs, New Young Pony Club and playing shows with the likes of Daft Punk, Phoenix and Bloc Party, Van She released their first album, V in 2008, which debuted at number #10 on the Australian charts. The album was co-produced by Jim Abiss at Konk studios in London in 2007. In June 2009, they released a remixed version of V, called Ze Vemixes.

Solo Work

Matt Van Schie has released songs under his own name and makes up half of the electronic music duo, Du Tonc, with Mighty Mouse. Michael Di Francesco has remixed songs under the title Arithmatix!, and released songs under the moniker 'Touch Sensitive'.

Band members

  • Nicholas Routledge — vocals, guitar
  • Matt Van Schie — bass guitar, vocals
  • Michael Di Francesco — synths, guitar
  • Tomek Archer — drums, sequencer


Studio albums

  • V (2008, Modular) AUS #10
  • Idea of Happiness (2012, Modular) AUS #28


  • Van She (2005, Modular)
  • Ze Vemixes (2009, Modular)


  • "Kelly" (2005, Modular)
  • "Sex City" (2006, Modular)
  • "Cat and the Eye" (2007, Modular)
  • "Strangers" (2008, Modular)
  • "Changes" (2008, Modular)
  • "Kelly (Album Version Re-Release)" (2008, Modular)
  • "Idea of Happiness (2012, Modular)
  • "Jamaica" (2012, Modular)
  • "Sarah" (2012, Modular)


  • Klaxons - "Gravity's Rainbow (Van She Remix)"
  • Teenager - "Alone Again (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Dragonette - "I Get Around (Van She Vocal Mix)"
  • Dragonette - "Pick Up the Phone (Van She Mix)"
  • Feist - "1234 (Van She Tech Mix)"
  • The Presets - "Are You the One? (Van She Mix)"
  • Lost Valentinos - "CCTV (Bang Gang Vs. Van She Tech Remix)"
  • New Young Pony Club - "Ice Cream (Van She Remix)"
  • Tiga - "You Gonna Want Me (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • I Am Finn - "I Love You (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • The Bravery - "Time Won't Let Me Go (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Sneaky Sound System - "UFO (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Muscles - "One Inch Badge Pin (Van She Tech City Gym Remix)"
  • Utah Saints - "Something Good (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • The Audio Thieves - "(Pray Like) Aretha Franklin (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Melinda Jackson - "Fall in Love (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Ladyhawke - "Back of the Van (Van She Turbo Fire Engine Mix)"
  • Martina Topley Bird - "Poison (Van She Mix)"
  • The Whip - "Frustration (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Das Pop - Underground (Van She Tech Remix)
  • Empire Of The Sun - "Walking on a Dream (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Shinichi Osawa- "Maximum Joy (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Walter Meego - "Forever (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Daft Punk - "Around the World (Nicky Van She vs.Dangerous Dan)"
  • Housse de Racket - "Synthétiseur"
  • Dan the Automator and Jurassic 5 - "Evian Campaign - Rappers Delight"
  • Pendulum - "Propane Nightmares (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Vandroid - "Master & Slave (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Strange Talk - "Climbing Walls (Van She Tech Remix)"
  • Boys Noize - "Ich R U (Van She remix)"


External links

  • on Myspace
  • on Myspace