«Uneven Structure» - biografía, álbumes, canciones, videoclips

Uneven Structure is a progressive metal band based in Metz, France. They play a style of post-metal which is heavily influenced by the Swedish extreme metal band Meshuggah. The band blends polyrhythmic passages and extremely low tunings with a heavily layered production style and ambient soundscapes. They are often categorized in the djent movement due to the Meshuggah-like guitar tone they often employ. The band was formed after the split of Longchat, a band which featured Igor Omodei and Benoit Friedrich.


The band released an EP entitled 8 in 2009, which is available as a free download in its entirety from the band's official website. The EP is made up entirely of riffs discarded from the full length they were working on at the time (which became Februus) pieced together and arranged into songs. The vocals were provided by Daniel Ädel of the Swedish band Vildhjarta. The band stated that it was put together to show that they could release something, as Februus was taking a long time to write and record.

On May 11, 2011, they signed to Basick Records. They embarked on their first ever tour in September 2011, touring the UK with Chimp Spanner and TesseracT. Their first full length release, Februus, came out October 31, 2011 and received overwhelmingly positive reviews. Shortly after, drummer Christian Schreil departed from the band to form Means End together with former Vildhjarta vocalist Robert Luciani. With the Euroblast 7 festival approaching, Mike Malyan of the British band Monuments generously acted as a stand in drummer until Jean Ferry joined Uneven Structure in late 2011.

The band began to play live shows again from late 2011 onwards, supporting Protest the Hero, Textures and TesseracT on their respective tours. They also played at the Basick records showcase at Camden Barfly with label mates Chimp Spanner and The Algorithm.

Two videos were uploaded to Uneven Structure's YouTube account which contained clips of new material, suggesting that a new release was in the works. The band later confirmed this via their Facebook page, stating that the album's concept had been decided and that the writing process was in progress.

In 2013, a re-recorded version of their debut EP 8 was released, as a stopgap release to tide fans over until the completion of their second album.


Studio albums

  • Februus (2011)


  • 8 (2009)
  • 8 (2013) [re-recorded]

Band members

  • Aurélien Perreira - guitar (since 2008)
  • Igor Omodei - guitar (since 2008)
  • Jérôme Colombelli - guitar (since 2008)
  • Benoit Friedrich - bass (since 2008)
  • Matthieu Romarin - vocals (since 2010)
  • Jean Ferry - drums (since 2011)

Previous members

  • Christian Schreil - drums (2009-2011)
  • Daniel Ädel (Vildhjarta) - session vocals (2009)

External links