Crush Luther - биография, альбомы, песни, клипы

Crush Luther are a Canadian pop-rock band based in Toronto, best known for their 2007 single "City Girl" and 2010 single "A Light".


The band formed in London, Ontario in 2002, with members from both Uxbridge, Ontario and Arnprior, Ontario. The original four members (Luther Mallory, Giggi Bongard, Brent Mills and Bodan Mulholland) worked together to build a strong catalogue of songs and sets before setting out to play shows in the Southern Ontario region. Towards the end of the same year, guitar player Matt Leitch (aka. Matt Fury) joined the band after learning the entire set the day before his first appearance with the band.

Since 2004, the band has released a 12-song demo in several formats and pressings. In late 2006, Crush Luther signed with Toronto-based High 4 Records (owned and operated by Darrin Pfeiffer of Goldfinger), the same label to which the band Cauterize was signed. Their self-titled album was released February 13, 2007. It was recorded at Iguana Studios, Pocket Studios, and Crush Luther Studios; it was produced by vocalist Luther Mallory, and engineered by Brent Mills. The first single from the album was "City Girl", which included a music video that was popular on both MuchMusic and MuchMoreMusic. It also reached number one on the MuchMoreMusic Top 10 countdown. A second single, "The Cools", was released to radio and the music video was in heavy rotation on MuchMusic.

Crush Luther appeared on several stints of the Warped Tour (2005, 2006, and 2007) in both Canada and the United States.

After a brief hiatus in late 2007 the band reformed with a new line up: Luther Mallory singing in addition to handling rhythm guitar duties, Matt Leitch on lead guitar, Dustin Wood, former bass player of Grand:PM handling bass guitar, and PJ Herrick, former drummer of Forty Cent Fix on drums. Ryan Snyder later replaced Dustin Wood on bass, Shael Fox, AKA former rhythm guitarist Dee Tard of The 3tards, later replaced Ryan Snyder.

Crush Luther's second album is called 'Some People Have No Good To Give', and was released online (September 29, 2009) in a "pay what you can" format (via Physical copies of the album were released in stores two weeks later on October 13, 2009. The first single from the album was "A Light". The video reached #2 on the MuchMore Top 10 Countdown. Videos for the second single "28" and third single "I Was Electric" also charted on the countdown and received favourable rotation on Much Music.

After disbanding in 2010, the members briefly played in the band "Fortune" with former INXS frontman J.D. Fortune


Date of release Title Record label Notes
2007 Crush Luther High 4 Records Digital, Physical (CD)
October 13, 2009 Some People Have No Good To Give High 4 Records Digital, Physical (CD and LP)


  • 2007: "City Girl"
  • 2007: "The Cools"
  • 2007: "When We Were Golden"
  • 2009: "A Light"
  • 2010: "28"
  • 2010: "I Was Electric"


External links

  • official site
  • on Myspace
  • on PureVolume