Black Guayaba - біографія, альбоми, пісні, кліпи

Black Guayaba, often spelled Black:Guayaba, is a Grammy-winning Puerto Rican rock band that was formed in 2000.

Band history

Black Guayaba is formed by Gustavo González (vocalist), Javier Morales (guitar), Carlos "Toro" Ortiz (bass), Carlos Colón (keyboards), and Gabriel Calero (drums). They originally began playing at local pubs and other private activities before dedicating time to prepare original material for their first album. They released Lo Demás es Plástico in 2005, which was mixed by Bob St. John, who had previously worked with Ricky Martin, Duran Duran, Collective Soul, among others. Their second full-scale concert took place August 23, 2008 at the Coliseo Roberto Clemente---- their first appearance in Puerto Rico's premiere and high-capacity concert hall, a very exciting performance.

Lo Demás es Plástico spawned several hit singles like "Lejos", "Atrapado", and "Despacio". With the success they received the opportunity to be the opening act of bands like Enanitos Verdes and Journey during their concerts in the island. In March 2006, they had their first concert held at the Luis A. Ferré Performing Arts Center. That same year they were nominated for a Latin Grammy as well as a Grammy.

In 2007, the band released their second album titled No Hay Espacio. The first single of the album is called "Ayer". In February 2008, they won their first Grammy in the category of Latin Rock/Alternative Album.

In April 2012, the band is set to release their third full-length studio album, titled La Conexión, after a 5-year gap from their last album. The lead single from this effort is called "Tú Lo Sabes Bien" and is already available for download on iTunes and many other virtual sources. La Conexión was officially released in April 9. It's available through iTunes worldwide, and selected record stores in Puerto Rico. Following the release of the album, the single "Tú Lo Sabes Bien" reached as far the #13 position in the Billboard Latin Pop Songs chart. A second single, called "Una Vida Sin Ti", a collaboration between Tommy Torres and the band, was released in June, keeping the successful reception in their country of origin, Puerto Rico, and also expanding their musical boundaries to many other Latin American countries.

Band members

  • Carlos R. Colón - keyboards
  • Carlos "Toro" Ortiz - Bass
  • Gabriel Calero - drums
  • Gustavo González - vocals
  • Javier Morales - Guitar


  • Lo Demás Es Plástico (August 16, 2005)
  • Lo Demás Es Plástico v2.0 (June 19, 2007)
  • No Hay Espacio (September 18, 2007)
  • iTunes Live from SoHo (July 15, 2008)
  • La Conexión (April 9, 2012)


2006 Latin Grammys:

  • Best Rock Album by Duo or Group: Nominated

2006 Grammys:

  • Best Latin Rock or Alternative Album: Nominated

2007 Grammys:

  • Best Latin Rock or Alternative Album: Won

2008 Billboard Latin Music Awards

  • (Latin Pop Albums) New Artist: Nominated
  • (Latin Rock/Alternative) Album of the Year: Nominated
  • (Latin Pop Airplay Song of the Year) New Artist: Nominated

2008 Latin Grammys:

  • Best Latin Rock Song by Duo or Group: Nominated


External links

  • - official site. (Spanish)
  • - Facebook official page. (Spanish)