«David Bazan» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

David Bazan (/bəˈzɑːn/; born January 22, 1976) is an indie rock singer-songwriter from Seattle, Washington. Bazan was the lead singer and creative force behind the band Pedro the Lion and was the lead singer of Headphones. In early 2006, he began performing and recording under his own name.


In the early 90's he played drums in the band The Guilty (later named Coolidge) with fellow songwriter Damien Jurado. Bazan had attended Shorewood High School with Jurado.

In 2002, he played drums and sang backup vocals for Seldom; in 2004, he played with Starflyer 59. Bazan has made various studio appearances with Seattle-based bands; for instance, In 2004 he sang on the Six Parts Seven remix album Lost Notes From Forgotten Songs, played drums in 1998 on Unwed Sailor's Firecracker EP, Bazan also contributed to the Rosie Thomas album These Friends of Mine.

In 2005, Bazan collaborated with TW Walsh, Frank Lenz of Starflyer 59 and Nick Peterson (formerly of Fleet Foxes), comprising the band Headphones. Walsh later left the band for personal reasons after a tour on which he handled drum duties. Peterson filled in on drums for the remaining Headphones live shows. The band released one self-titled LP and there were no subsequent plans from Bazan to continue recording under the Headphones moniker.

Bazan was part of The Undertow Orchestra with Mark Eitzel (American Music Club), Will Johnson (Centro-matic, South San Gabriel), Vic Chesnutt, and Scott Danbom (Centro-matic, South San Gabriel). They toured the USA and Europe in 2006.

Bazan is a personal friend of comedian Horatio Sanz, and performed at Sanz's 2006 Christmas show, The Ho-Ho-Horatio Christmas Special, at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre in New York City. In 2007 he did a Take-Away Show acoustic video session.

Bazan has also been involved with Crystal Skulls and Walsh's band The Soft Drugs.

Bazan is a member of Overseas with Will Johnson of Centro-matic and Bubba & Matt Kadane of Bedhead and The New Year. Their debut album was officially announced on April 4, 2013 and was released on June 11, 2013.

Solo projects

Bazan recorded his first solo project, the EP Fewer Moving Parts, in between touring as a member of The Undertow Orchestra. The EP was released on June 13, 2006. In 2007, he completed a nationwide solo tour featuring Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie and Johnathan Rice and also contributed a cover of the song "Let Down" to Stereogum's OK X project, a tribute to the Radiohead album OK Computer.

In September 2008, in an interview with 89.3 The Current , Bazan mentioned that his next album would be played entirely by him and that he would recruit friends to play live when he tours. During his solo tour in September 2008, Bazan debuted six other songs that were on the short list for Curse Your Branches: "Weeds in the Wheat", "Curse Your Branches", "Broken Arm", "In Stitches," and "Harmless Sparks."

Bazan released his first DVD the following month. The DVD contains interviews and intimate live performances filmed in his home studio, on his front porch, and while driving around in his Ford Bronco. It was shot during two weekends in June and July 2008 in Seattle. The DVD, entitled Bazan: Alone at the Microphone, was released October 21, 2008.

In October 2008, Bazan released the album version of "American Flags" on his Facebook and Myspace pages to coincide with the 2008 United States presidential election. The track was made available for purchase on iTunes and other online vendors in November, along with a version of "Please, Baby, Please" recorded for the DVD.

Beginning in March 2009, Bazan played a series of small, acoustic house shows. The smaller shows allowed him to debut new material and generate income, while still maintaining a low profile per the request of his record label.

Bazan's full length debut album, Curse Your Branches, was released on September 1, 2009 on Barsuk Records. His second full length solo album, Strange Negotiations, was released May 24, 2011.

In 2012, he toured with Dallas Green on his Little Hell USA Tour in the Southern United States. The same year, The David Bazan Band did a tour dedicated specifically to playing the album "Control" that Bazan had recorded with Pedro the Lion in 2002.



  • Curse Your Branches (September 1, 2009)
  • Strange Negotiations (May 24, 2011)


  • Bazan: Alone at the Microphone (October 21, 2008)


  • 7 song demo (1994)
  • Fewer Moving Parts (June 13, 2006)
  • Live at Electrical Audio (March 15, 2010)


  • The Poison Makes, split single b/w Walk Slow by Casey Foubert (January 2003, Bedside Recordings)
500 numbered on black vinyl on Ben Gibbard's short lived label
  • Away in a Manger (October 25, 2006, Suicide Squeeze)
B-Side: O Little Town Of Bethlehem
1,000 printed on marbled vinyl
  • Jingle Bells (November 4, 2008, Suicide Squeeze)
B-side: All I Want for Christmas
200 printed on white vinyl
400 printed on red vinyl
400 printed on green vinyl
  • American Flags 7" Single
B-side: Please Baby Please
  • The Man in Me (September 1, 2009, Barsuk Records)
B-side: Hallelujah
  • Happy Xmas (War Is Over) (October 6, 2009, Suicide Squeeze)
B-side: Say It Isn't Greensleeves (A Change At Christmas)
200 printed on blue vinyl
400 printed on golden vinyl
400 printed on clear vinyl
  • Wish My Kids Were Here (November 9, 2010, Suicide Squeeze)
B-Side: I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day
200 printed on orange vinyl
400 printed on red vinyl
400 printed on yellow vinyl

Compilation appearances

  • Hard Times - Bifrost Arts' Come O Spirit (Sounds Familyre 2009)

See also: Pedro the Lion discography, Headphones discography

Notes and references

  • Riverfront Times

External links