«Delphic» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Delphic are a band from Stockport, England. They are signed to Polydor but released their first single "Counterpoint", produced by Ewan Pearson, in April 2009 through R&S Records. The band started out as a trio – Richard "Rick" Boardman, Matt Cocksedge, and James Cook – after their previous group, Snowfight in the City Centre, disbanded. They are now a four-piece band, augmented by drummer Dan Hadley, incorrectly identified as "Dan Theman" on early news coverage such as Paul Lester's coverage of them in his "New Band of the Day" feature.

In 2009 the band toured the UK music festival circuit, playing at T in the Park, Reading and Leeds Festivals, and Creamfields, among others.

The EP for "This Momentary" was released on 31 August 2009 through Kitsuné. The music video for "This Momentary" was nominated for three UK Music Video Awards, including Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Telecine. In November 2009 they made their first TV appearance appearing on Later... with Jools Holland playing "Doubt" and "Halcyon".

Delphic were one of the 15 shortlisted music acts for the BBC Sound of 2010 as announced on Monday 7 December 2009. When the winners were announced in early 2010, it was revealed the band had placed third on BBC Sound of 2010, after Ellie Goulding and Marina and the Diamonds.

Acolyte was released in Australia and New Zealand on 22 January 2010 via Modular and in the United States on 29 June 2010 via Dangerbird Records.Collections, the band's second album, was released on 28 January 2013.

Delphic collaborated with Manchester International Festival in July 2013, performing a three night exclusive residency at the festival, re-working their entire album 'Collections' with an array of instruments from around the world played by musicians from the UK. The event series was entitled 'Our Worldly Collections'.

Delphic are currently writing new material as well as collaborating with other artists. They recently collaborated with Bradford based producer TS7 on his new track "Reach. UK producer Shadowchild recently posted a picture on Instagram from Delphic's studio, suggesting the two artists may also be working together.


Acolyte (2010)

Announced on Delphic's website on 2 November 2009, their debut album was called Acolyte and released on Polydor on the band's own imprint Chimeric Records on 11 January 2010. Reviewing for BBC Music, writer Lou Thomas commented that it "might just be the first great album of 2010". Acolyte was also described as "on kissing terms with magnificence" by Simon Price of the Independent. The singles released from Acolyte were "Doubt", "Halcyon", and "Counterpoint", the latter of which was re-released later on Chimeric.

"Counterpoint" was used as one of the theme songs for Sky Sports' coverage of the Premier League in the 2010–11 season, and also is one of the songs included in the playlist of Pro Evolution Soccer 2010.

The song "Red Lights" has been featured on the new E4 advert for 90210.

The song "Halcyon" has been featured nationwide on the new advert for the Samsung Monte mobile phone.

The first song from the album, "Clarion Call", features in the F1 2010 video game by Codemasters, the video game Saint's Row: The Third, and is used by Sky Sports as theme music for International Cricket highlights programmes.

After a sold out UK tour in early January 2010 with pop noir band Mirrors, the band set tour dates for a second and third run of the UK in March and May.

The band were also nominated for the "Best UK & Ireland New Act" in the 2010 MTV EMAs in Madrid.

Collections (2013)

In an April 2012 interview with NME, Rick Boardman said the band had been working on material for their second album over the course of 18 months and had been working with producers Ben Allen (Bombay Bicycle Club) and DFA Records cofounder Tim Goldsworthy. In the article, he noted their and Goldsworthy's shared affinity for contemporary R&B, which suggests a possible shift in direction on the new album.

In an interview on the unofficial Delphic Fansite, Boardman confirmed the release dates for the first single and the follow-up to 2010's Acolyte would be "soon". The album's title and song titles remain unknown, though Boardman revealed there was a song with a working title of "Bhangra" that has since been renamed.

BBC News reported on 28 June 2012 that Delphic, alongside Muse, Elton John vs. Pnau, Dizzee Rascal, and The Chemical Brothers, would be releasing one of the five official songs of the 2012 Summer Olympics taking place in London, United Kingdom. In line with a previous report by international news agency Reuters, Delphic's single was released on 23 July 2012 on Polydor.

"Good Life," Delphic's London 2012 Olympics single, premiered as the "Hottest Record in the World" feature of Zane Lowe's evening Radio 1 programme on 18 July 2012. In an interview with Lowe directly following the song's worldwide premiere, guitarist Matt Cocksedge explained their management had submitted a demo of "Good Life" without the band's knowledge, until it was revealed to them later that it had been chosen as one of the official singles of the 2012 Summer Olympics. Rick Boardman went on to say that the album has a planned early 2013 release.

When asked by UK music blog There Goes the Fear whether "Good Life" was a good example of their yet to be released material, singer/bassist James Cook stated that the new single was "...closer to the Acolyte material than any of the other new tunes. It is representative more of [the] mood [of the new material], not [its] musical direction.".

On 15 August 2012, Delphic announced they would be previewing the new album material on a UK tour taking place October and November 2012. The band performed 3 new songs live for the first time at Free Form Festival 2012 in Warsaw, Poland – "Baiya", "Memeo" and "Atlas". On the UK Tour they debuted another new song named "Changes".

The first details of the new album, Collections, surfaced on 1 November 2012 on Delphic's website which coincide with the final day of Delphic tour in autumn 2012. The band posted Introducing 'Collections', a sample of the new album on VEVO on 31 October 2012, in which new songs "Baiya", "Memeo" and "Atlas" were featured.

Delphic unveiled the first single taken from their new album – titled "Baiya" – in November. The track is currently streaming online.


Studio albums

Year Album details Peak chart positions
2010 Acolyte
  • Released: 11 January 2010
  • Label: Polydor, Dangerbird
  • Formats: CD, Vinyl, digital download
8 64 151 90
2013 Collections
  • Released: 28 January 2013
  • Label: Polydor
  • Formats: CD, Vinyl, digital download


Year Single Chart Positions Album
2009 "Counterpoint" Acolyte
2010 "Doubt" 79
"Halcyon" 143 16
"Counterpoint" (re-release)
2012 "Good Life" (official Olympics single)
2013 "Baiya" Collections

Promotional singles

Year Single Album
2009 "This Momentary" Acolyte


  • A – The single was released alongside the album Acolyte as iTunes Single of the Week.
  • B – The single was released as a 'Buzz' single during November 2009, although it did not appear on Acolyte. Delphic's members were previously part of a band called "Snowfight in the City Centre," supporting Ghosts (Atlantic) in 2007.


External links

  • on Twitter
  • on YouTube