«EXID» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

EXID (Hangul: 이엑스아이디, pronounced ee-ex-ID) is a five-member South Korean girl group under Korean music label AB Entertainment, produced solely by Shinsadong Tiger. The group made their official debut on February 16, 2012 with their single "HOLLA", promoting the title track, "Whoz That Girl". The group originally debuted with six members, but three members (Yuzi, Dami and Haeryung) decided to leave the group two months after the group's debut, and were replaced by two new members, Solji and Hyerin.



Late 2011, Shinsadong Tiger announced he was producing a girl group under AB Entertainment, which he started in May 2011. Originally, the group was to be called "WT", standing for "Who's That", but changed their name a few months before debut.

Before the official debut, LE, the group's main rapper, was featured alongside Huh Gak for his single "Whenever You Play That Song". The song drew attention to LE, sparking more interest for the group's upcoming debut.

The group was to debut in January 2012, but LE had an accident during rehearsals which resulted in her sustaining a leg injury, delaying their debut by a few weeks. It was then on February 3, 2012 when the first teaser was released.

After several other teasers, the group officially released their first music video for the title track, "Whoz That Girl", followed by the official release of their first single "HOLLA", a day later.

They then went onto debut on music shows, the first being on "M! Countdown" on February 16, 2012, followed by Music Core and Inkigayo.

Line-Up Changes and "Hippity Hop"

On April 30, AB Entertainment made an announcement that Yuji, Dami and Haeryung had left the group. Yuji, the former leader of the group, said she would temporarily stop working and return to Seoul Institute of Arts after taking a break to promote "Whoz That Girl", while Dami said she would be studying to get into college and Haeryung was planning to become an actress. AB Entertainment also revealed the group would be turning into a five-member group to release new material in June of that year.

EXID was reported to have a June 2012 comeback, but their agency released a statement on July 17, 2012, that they would have a comeback in mid-August of that year. The reason behind this was the finalization of the member line-up and finishing off promotions. At the same time, it was announced that two new members had been added (thus bringing the group to the previously announced five members), and that LE would become the leader of the group.

The two new members were revealed on July 31, 2012 - Heo Solji (main vocals, leader), and Seo Hyerin (vocals and lead dancer). Shortly after this, it was revealed that the group would have a comeback on August 15 with their mini album "Hippity Hop".

Shortly after finishing their promotions for "I Feel Good", the digital single "Every Night" was released. "Every Night" is an alternate version of LE's self-written song “Phone Call” from the group’s ‘HIPPITY HOP‘ mini-album.

EXID participated in a new soundtrack release for MBC’s popular sitcom, The Thousandth Man. Released on October 11, the song “Hey Boy” is the female version of B1A4‘s main title version, “Hey Girl“. Producer Shinsadong Tiger rearranged it into a "fun reggae style" to create a different approach from B1A4′s original version.

On November 30, 2012, it was revealed that BIG STAR, D-UNIT, and EXID would be working together on a special collaboration project in addition to a special year-end concert.

On December 6, 2012, EXID won the rookie award at the “20th Annual Korean Culture and Entertainment Awards”. In their acceptance speech, the group said “We are so happy and honored to receive such a meaningful award. We will continue to try our best and grow."

On December 22, 2012, BIG STAR, D-UNIT and EXID (along with special appearances by Dok2, The Quiett, and Electroboyz, among others).

DASONI Sub-unit, "Up & Down", and "You Got Some Nerve" Controversy

On February 7, 2013, EXID released the single "Up & Down" from the "Incarnation Of Money" soundtrack.

It was announced via Twitter that members Hani and Solji would be taking part in a sub-unit called "DASONI", and released a single on February 15, 2013.

Producer Brave Brothers began hinting about an upcoming project involving EXID, and tweeted “Brave Brothers 2013 project ‘Absurd’ members are Junhyung B2ST, LE EXID, FeelDog Big Star. We ask for your love and support.^^”, along with a poster for the single release. The photo showed the words “19+ Profanity Included – Absurd”, written in black and red, and Junhyung, FeelDog, and LE striking poses. The image also had the release date of February 21, 2013, and on February 20, Brave Brothers released LE's version of the “You Got Some Nerve” MV teaser.

A "15+" version of the song (meaning "for listeners 15 years of age and older") was released on February 21, with the curse words in the song bleeped out. The original song is rated "19+" (or "for listeners 19 years of age and older"), but representatives of Brave Brothers said "We have been receiving requests for a public version to be released. So we took out the words rated 19+ and replaced them with beeps instead and decided to reveal the edited version on the 21st." The explicit version of the song and its music video was be released on February 25, 2013. Some fans were angered by this, and accused Brave Brothers of "taking them for a ride" by releasing the edited version before the uncensored one.

2014 Comeback

On February 15, 2014, it was announced that EXID would be making a comeback in March, following a year and a half long hiatus.


Member Birth name Date of birth
Romanized Hangul Romanized Hangul
Solji 솔지 Heo Sol Ji 허솔지 (1989-01-10) January 10, 1989 (age 25)
LE 엘리 Ahn Hyo Jin 안효진 (1991-12-10) December 10, 1991 (age 22)
Hani 하니 Ahn Hee Yeon 안희연 (1992-05-01) May 1, 1992 (age 22)
Hyerin 혜린 Seo Hye Rin 서혜린 (1993-08-23) August 23, 1993 (age 20)
Junghwa 정화 Park Jung Hwa 박정화 (1995-05-08) May 8, 1995 (age 18)
  • Sol Ji was a former member of the group 2NB and is known for her vocal talent. She has also had a solo career, releasing some singles in 2008. She was the vocal trainer for the group before becoming a member.
  • LE was a former member of the underground rap team Jiggy Fellaz under the name of Elly (LE shares the same pronunciation as Elly). She was featured in "Whenever You Play That Song", a duet with Huh Gak, before EXID's debut.


Member Birth name Date of birth
Romanized Hangul Romanized Hangul
Dami 다미 Kang Hye Yeon 강혜연 (1990-12-08) December 8, 1990 (age 23)
Yuji 유지 Jeong Yu Ji 정유지 (1991-01-02) January 2, 1991 (age 23)
Haeryung 해령 Na Hae Ryeong 나해령 (1994-11-11) November 11, 1994 (age 19)

All three members have redebuted in a new group, BESTie in July 2013.

  • Dami left the group to pursue her studies. She joined the group BESTie with her birth name, Hyeyeon.
  • Yu Ji was a trainee under JYP Entertainment, and was supposed to be in a trio with SECRET's Ji Eun and SISTAR's Hyo Rin. She left the group to continue her studies, but joined the group BESTie afterwards with the stage name UJi.
  • Haeryung decided to leave the group to pursue an acting career and debuted with the other former members in a four-member girl group called BESTie.


Members Predebut 2012 2013 2014
February April June August
  • Predebut is in violet.


  • Fanclub Name : Leggo