«Renārs Kaupers» - biography, albums, songs, video clips

Renārs Kaupers, artistic name Reynard Cowper (born 1 September 1974 in Jelgava) is a Latvian pop singer and songwriter.

He is the lead singer of the Latvian pop/rock band Brainstorm, which won third at the Eurovision Song Contest 2000 with their song "My Star". He hosted the Eurovision Song Contest 2003 in Riga, Latvia, with co-host Marija Naumova (stage name Marie N), and also hosted Congratulations, the Eurovision 50th anniversary concert in Copenhagen, Denmark, with Katrina Leskanich.

Kaupers graduated from University of Latvia in 1996 with a degree in journalism. He can speak at least three languages with fluency: English, Latvian, and Russian.

Kaupers' ancestors were probably Baron Friedrich von Stuart from Courland (1761–1842) and Immanuel Kant's niece Henrietta Kant. He has a wife, Agnese, twin sons Edgars and Emīls, and another son Ārons.

In 2001, Renārs received the Latvian Film Prize as the best actor for his role in Vecās pagastmājas mistērija.


  • 2005 Fifth Class Order of the White Star of the Republic of Estonia.
  • 2008 Fourth Class Order of the Three Stars of the Republic of Latvia.



  1. Georg (2007) .... Caesar ... aka Georg Ots (Estonia)
  2. Eirodziesma (2005) (TV) .... Special Guest
  3. Eurolaul (2003) (TV) .... Member of the jury
  4. Vecas pagastmajas misterija (2000) ... aka The Mystery of Old Parish House (International: English title)


  1. Premiya Muz-TV 2008 (2008) (TV) (music: "Thunder Without Rain") (lyrics: "Thunder Without Rain") ... aka Премия Муз-ТВ 2008 (Russia) ... aka The Muz-TV Music Awards 2008 (International: English title: informal title)


  1. Premiya Muz-TV 2008 (2008) (TV) (as Brainstorm) .... Himself ... aka Премия Муз-ТВ 2008 (Russia) ... aka The Muz-TV Music Awards 2008 (International: English title: informal title)
  2. Congratulations: 50 Years of the Eurovision Song Contest (2005) (TV) .... Himself - Host
  3. The Eurovision Song Contest (2003) (TV) .... Host
  4. The Eurovision Song Contest (2001) (TV) .... Latvian vote presenter
  5. Eirodziesma (2000) (TV) .... Himself
  6. The Eurovision Song Contest (2000) (TV) (as Brainstorm) .... Latvian entry (3rd place)

See also

  • List of Eurovision Song Contest presenters
  • Brainstorm (Latvian band)


External links

  • at the Internet Movie Database
Preceded by
Annely Peebo and Marko Matvere
Eurovision Song Contest presenter
(with Marie N)
Succeeded by
Korhan Abay and Meltem Cumbul