«Digital Summer» - biografía, álbumes, canciones, videoclips

Digital Summer is an American hard rock band from Phoenix, Arizona, formed in 2006.

The band released an EP and 4 full-length albums, the most recent of which, titled After Hours: Unplugged & Rewired, was released on October 8, 2013.


Formation, Cause and Effect and Hollow (2006-2009)

Digital Summer was formed in 2006 when brothers Kyle Winterstein (vocals/song writing) and Ian Winterstein (guitar) enlisted long time friend Anthony "Guido" Hernandez (bass/backing vocals) to form the core of the band. After a few months, Digital Summer made the addition of Johnmark "Fish" Cenfield on lead guitar. The band has had a couple different full-time drummers, most recently Ben Anderson who left in late 2012.

The band's first full length release, Cause and Effect, was released on March 8, 2007. “Whatever It Takes,” was the first single and it spent 45 weeks in rotation on Sirus/XM's Octane 20, and got adds from KUPD,WWBN, WFXH, WPBZ, KXTE, KATT, KILO, KXXR, WZBH, WIIL, Cage Rattle Radio, and more. In addition, "Whatever it Takes" was featured as one of the "Top 4 Songs of the Day" for over six weeks straight on 98KUPD. The second single “Disconnect,” also enjoyed similar success with over 40 national adds, Sirus/XM's Octane 20, WRIF, KSHE, and KUPD included.

An acoustic version of "Whatever it Takes" was featured in KUPD's Acoustic Scorcher album released at Phoenix area Best Buy locations. The sold-out disc included 10 tracks recorded on-site at KUPD's End of Summer Scorcher by artists such as Sevendust, Corey Taylor of Slipknot, Five Finger Death Punch, Tantric, Cavo, and Digital Summer.

Following Cause and Effect, the band released the 2 disc EP/DVD set, Hollow, on March 31, 2008. The DVD portion of the set included a music video for the song "Rescue Me". The full video production included a scene of a car accident and featured both friends and co-workers of the band.

Counting the Hours (2009-2011)

Digital Summer issued their second full length album, Counting the Hours, on May 7, 2010. Counting the Hours was recorded in Phoenix with producer Larry Elyea (who previously worked with Jimmy Eat World, Eminem, Adelitas Way), mixed by producer Mike Watts (Dear Hunter, Adelitas Way, Saliva), and features guest performances by Morgan Rose from Sevendust.

The album's first single, "Just Run", was released nationally in early February 2010. In late 2011 the band released the video for "Just Run".

The second single, "Hostage", was also released nationally to radio.

Breaking Point (2011-2013)

In fall of 2011, Digital Summer announced that it had parted ways with guitarist Johnmark "Fish" Cenfield. After auditions were held, on January 26, 2012 it was announced the band chose Jon Stephenson as their new lead guitarist, who joined the band in time to help with recording and writing their third full length album.

Digital Summer used online fundraiser KickStarter to involve fans directly in helping fund the recording and release of their new album, titled Breaking Point. They produced a promotional video for the campaign, which featured praise from Rick DeJesus of Adelitas Way, C.J. Pierce of Drowning Pool, and Morgan Rose of Sevendust.

Breaking Point was released August 7, 2012.

The lead single off the album, "Forget You", which features Clint Lowery from Sevendust, reached #38 on the Active Rock charts. The album debuted at #13 on iTunes in Rock. On September 10, 2012, an official music video for "Forget You" was released.

"Dance in the Fire" was also released as a single in 2012/2013, with an official "tour" music video released on 5 March 2013.

In late 2012 it was revealed that Ben Anderson, band's longtime drummer, left the band. Since that time Austin Rios plays with the band live.

After Hours: Unplugged & Rewired (2013-present)

The full length acoustic album titled After Hours: Unplugged & Rewired was released on October 8, 2013.

Starting with September 10, 2013 after the pre-order of the acoustic album on iTunes a listener could receive the first single off the album, "This City". A music video for "This City" was released on January 8, 2014.

On January 20, 2014 it was announced that guitarist Jon Stephenson left the band due to professional differences. 13 year old Austin Rios was then announced to be the band's new full time addition on drums, after a strenuous search for a drummer. Rios began his full time membership on Shiprocked Cruise, and will embark with the band on a spring tour. Derek Kleoppel was also announced as a new guitarist of the band.


Digital Summer has participated in radio festivals such as 98KUPD's "End of Summer Scorcher" and 98KUPD's annual Easter Keg Hunt where they shared the stage with 10 Years.

In July 2012, Digital Summer joined hard rock band 12 Stones on the road for a 27-day tour, spanning across the midwest and east coast.

In November 2012, Digital Summer went on tour with Taproot for the Winter Riot Tour through the Midwest.

In January 2013, Digital Summer went on a 28 dates tour with heavy rock band Nonpoint that covers the Pacific Northwest, Southwest and parts of the South.

In January 2014 the band is going to perform at Shiprocked festival alongside such bands as Five Finger Death Punch, Papa Roach, Three Days Grace, Sevendust, In This Moment and Device among others.


Current members

  • Kyle Winterstein - lead vocals (2006–present)
  • Ian Winterstein - guitar (2006–present)
  • Anthony "Guido" Hernandez - bass (2006–present)
  • Austin Rios - drums (2012-present)
  • Derek Kleoppel - guitar (2014–present)

Past members

  • Johnmark "Fish" Cenfield - guitar (2006–2011)
  • Chris "Cooter" Carlson - drums (2006-2009)
  • Ben Anderson - drums (2009–2012)
  • Jon "Bubba" Stephenson - guitar (2012–2014)



  • Cause and Effect (2007)
  • Counting the Hours (2010)
  • Breaking Point (2012)
  • After Hours: Unplugged & Rewired (2013)


  • Hollow (2008)


Year Title Album
2008 "Whatever it Takes" Cause and Effect
2009 "Rescue Me" Hollow
"Use Me"
2010 "Just Run" Counting the Hours
2012 "Forget You" Breaking Point
"Dance in the Fire"
2013 "This City" After Hours: Unplugged & Rewired

Music videos

  • "Disconnect"
  • "Rescue Me"
  • "Just Run"
  • "Forget You"
  • "Dance in the Fire"
  • "This City"

Additional information

Tragedy Machine

Brothers Kyle and Ian Winterstein have an experimental rock side project called "Tragedy Machine" since 2008, and their debut album titled "Pacify" was released June 7, 2011 containing the 4 EP tracks they released in 2008 and 11 brand new tracks.

Burning Solace

In 2013 Jon Stephenson, Kyle and Ian Winterstein took part in recording of the album "In Darkness We Prevail" by Burning Solace. They also appear on the profile picture of band's official page. The album includes re-recorded songs "Drowning In You" and "Into This Moment" which were initially recorded by Digital Summer and sent exclusively for the backers of the Breaking Point Kickstarter campaign in 2012.


Digital Summer had a management deal with In De Goot Entertainment/ McGathy who boasts artists such as Chevelle, Sevendust, Saliva, Shinedown, Puddle of Mudd, Adelitas Way, 10 Years, and many more. However, Digital Summer parted ways with in De Goot in December 2011 to operate under their own label, Victim Entertainment.


  • The week of May 8, 2008; Digital Summer was the featured cover story for the Phoenix New Times.
  • Digital Summer was interviewed in episode 12 of Indie Music Phoenix, a phoenix based TV show that focuses on up and coming artists in the Phoenix area, as well as main stream that come through the area.
  • Digital Summer was RockRevolt Magazine's Indie Band of the Week for the week of 02/15/2013-02/22/213.


External links

  • on Myspace