«Мумий Тролль» - biografía, álbumes, canciones, videoclips

Mumiy Troll (Russian: Му́мий Тро́лль [ˈmumʲij ˈtrɔlʲ]) is a Russian rock group, founded in 1983 in Vladivostok by vocalist and songwriter Ilya Lagutenko (Илья Лагутенко). The literal name of the band, 'The mummies' troll', is a pun on Moomin Troll, the series of Finnish children's books by Tove Jansson.


Mumiy Troll broke up when Lagutenko, who graduated in Mandarin and Chinese Economy, went to serve in the Soviet army (Russian Air Navy). Then he came back and they gained immense popularity with the release of their first (official) album Morskaya (Морская, Marine) in May 1997, which showcased a combination of melodic hard rock and Lagutenko's offbeat lyrics and coy, androgynous performance style. The second CD Ikra (Икра, Caviar), followed seven months later, and was equally successful.

Mumiy Troll remains one of Russia's most popular musical acts. Ilya Lagutenko defined their music style as rockapops. Once again Mumiy Troll became the leader of an entire new musical trend copied now to greater or lesser degree by Russian wannabees and mainstream artists. Being an example of one of the successful long-standing independent artists in Russia band released 8 studio albums so far, wrote and produced soundtracks for a full length cartoon movie and gave a new sound to classic Russian silent sci-fi movie and donated tracks to feature films including Russian blockbuster Night Watch, where Ilya also plays the Vampire. His face is on the cover of the American release.

Mumiy Troll is well known in Japan, China and Europe. The band cooperate with “Shoot The Artist” (Bjorn Tagemoose, video) and “The Agency” (North American tours-2009). The band's North American tour of 16 dates earlier this year was a huge success, so “The Agency” announced another two month North American tour.

Mumiy Troll is not a one-man band – the 4 people on stage have been together for the last 10 years. Yuri Tsaler, one of the most admirable guitarists in the country, is also the co-author of some of the songs. Oleg Pungin began his drumming career at the age of 7 and is still delivering the strongest pumping beats as he helps to record a good half of all records in Russia. Sdwig is the bass player who is in charge of introducing the band to modern-day technologies.

Mumiy Troll was the first to support the activities of PSI organization fighting AIDS in Russia and performed at the No Name Fever exhibition for AIDS in Gothenburg, Sweden in 2005. They are also well known for conservation activities on wild life in Far-East taiga and helping local minorities to survive. Ilya Lagutenko is a patron of the British-Russian Amur fund for the protection of Amur tigers and leopards.

Mumiy Troll – first in Russia and one of the first in the world – opened its own social network Ikra.tv.


  • The first Russian music video to be broadcast by MTV Russia in 1998 was Mumiy Troll's Vladivostok 2000.
  • The very same day (31 December 1999) that Mumiy Troll scheduled the release of the single 'The Carnival Is Over' Vladimir Putin took over from Boris Yeltsin.
  • Time Out (London) wrote that they 'stole the show' when they represented Russia in the 2001 Eurovision Song Contest, writing that they stood out as snakeskin heroes amongst all the taffeta and tuxedos.
  • Their album Merger and Acquisitions (2005) was called back from the printers on the day of release when distributors realized that the bride and groom on the cover were wearing masks of Putin and Mikhail Khodorkovsky. The band changed them into symbols of hearts and United States dollars respectively.


  • Ilya Lagutenko: lead vocals, guitar, keyboard, acoustic guitar, tambourine
  • Eugene "Sdwig" Zvidionny: bass guitar
  • Oleg Pungin: drums


  • 1985 – Novaya luna aprelya (Новая луна апреля, New Moon In April)
  • 1990 – Delay Yu-Yu (Делай Ю-Ю, Do The Yu-Yu)
  • 1997 – Morskaya (Морская, Marine)
  • 1997 – Ikra (Икра, Caviar)
  • 1998 – Shamora – pravda o Mumiyakh i Trollyakh (Шамора. Правда о Мумиях и Троллях, Shamora: The Truth About The Mummys and Trolls)
  • 1998 – S novym godom, Kroshka! (С Новым Годом, Крошка!, Happy New Year, Baby!)
  • 2000 – Tochno rtut' aloe (Точно Ртуть Алоэ, Just Mercury Of Aloe)
  • 2002 – Meamury (Меамуры)
  • 2004 – Pokhitityeli knig (Похитители Книг, The Book Thieves)
  • 2005 – Sliyaniye i pogloshcheniye (Слияние и Поглощение, Merger and Acquisition)
  • 2007 – Amba (Амба)
  • 2008 – 8
  • 2009 – Comrade Ambassador – US release (in Russian)
  • 2010 – Paradise Ahead – US EP Release
  • 2012 – Vladivostok
  • 2013 – SOS matrosu (SOS матросу)


  • 1997 The Best Still Image 1996 for Utekai (Run Away) The Best Still Image 1997 for Delfiny (Dolphins) – the award from the Pokolenie Video Festival.
  • 1997 The Best Rock Group 1997 – Ovation prize from the Russian Music Academy.
  • 1997 The Best Group 1997, The Best Album 1997 for Morskaya (Nautical), The Best Song 1997 for Utekai (Run Away), The Best Group 1998, The Best Video 1998 for Delfiny (Dolphins), The Best Video 1999 for Nevesta? (Bride?), The Best Musical Site 1999 – Russian music magazine Fuzz prize
  • November 2002 Golden Disk according to the Meamories album sales in Latvia.
  • 2002 Zolotoy Grammofon (Golden Gramophone) premium (for the most popular song at Russkoe Radio in 2002) was awarded for the song Eto po lubvi (Because of Love).
  • 2002 The Best Group 2002, The Best Song 2002 for Eto po lubvi (Because of love) – the Poboroll prize from Nashe Radio.
  • May 2004 Golden Disk according to the Pohititeli Knig album sales in Latvia.
  • 2005 The Best Album 2005 for Sliyanie i Pogloshenie (Merger and Acquisition) – Russian music magazine Fuzz prize.
  • 2006 Animation category – video clip Strakhu Net – Russian Flash Awards prize.
  • 2006 For the contribution to rock-art – Russian music magazine Fuzz prize.
  • 2006 Legend of MTV – MTV Russia Music Awards.
  • 2008 The Best Album 2008 – Mumiy Troll, «8» – Chartova Duzhina
  • 2008 The Best Music 2008 – Mumiy Troll, Contrabands – Chartova Duzhina
  • 2008 Internet 2008 – Mumiy Troll, www.mumiytroll.com – Steppe Wolf
  • 2008 CD 2008 – Mumiy Troll, «8» – Steppe Wolf
  • 2009 The Best Group 2009 – Mumiy Troll – Chartova Duzhina


External links

Awards and achievements
Preceded by
with "Solo"
Russia in the Eurovision Song Contest
Succeeded by
Prime Minister (Band)
with "Northern Girl"