Patterson Hood - биография, альбомы, песни, клипы

Patterson Hood (born March 24, 1964) is an American singer-songwriter and co-founder of the band Drive-By Truckers.

Early life

Hood was born in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the son of Jan Patterson Adams and David Hood. Hood is the son of David Hood, longtime bassist of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section. He has a younger sister, Lilla Hood. Hood said his parents married really young and when he was in college eventually went through a difficult divorce.

His mother Jan remarried, to a man named Chester Adams. Hood said: "Their courtship was the subject of our [DBT] song and monologue 18 Wheels of Love and his near death experience a few years ago was detailed in the Austin City Limits version last year."

Hood began writing songs at the age of eight, and by the time he was 14 he was playing guitar in a local rock band. While attending college in 1985, he formed the band Adam's House Cat with his friend Mike Cooley, and the group won Musician Magazine's Best Unsigned Band competition three years later. However, the band's regional acclaim didn't translate into significant commercial success, and its sole full-length album was never released.


After Adam's House Cat split up, Hood and Cooley continued to work together. They eventually formed the Drive-By Truckers in 1996, following a mutual relocation to Athens, GA. Drawing equal influence from country and rock & roll, the Drive-By Truckers released their first album, Gangstabilly, in 1998.

Hood has released three solo albums in his career, beginning with 2004's Killers and Stars on New West Records, followed by the self-released (on Ruth St. Records) Murdering Oscar (And Other Love Songs) in 2009 and 2012's Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance for ATO Records.

In 2012, Hood formed Patterson Hood and the Downtown 13 with Mike Mills of R.E.M., John Bell and Todd Nance of Widespread Panic, fellow Truckers Jay Gonzalez, Brad Morgan, John Neff and David Barbe, and Athens musicians Claire Campbell, Lera Lynn, Henry Barbe, Brannen Miles, Carter King and Payton Bradford. the collective was formed to record a track After It's Gone to protest the building of a new Wal-Mart in downtown Athens, GA. After It's Gone was released on 7" vinyl by ATO Records for Record Store Day 2012.


Solo Albums

Studio Albums
  • Killers and Stars (2004)
  • Murdering Oscar (And Other Love Songs) (2009)
  • Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance (2012)

Patterson Hood and the Downtown 13

  • After It's Gone (2012)

Drive-By Truckers

Studio Albums
  • Gangstabilly (1998)
  • Pizza Deliverance (1999)
  • Southern Rock Opera (2001)
  • Decoration Day (2003)
  • The Dirty South (2004) No. 147 US
  • A Blessing and a Curse (2006) No. 50 US
  • Brighter Than Creation's Dark (2008) No. 37 US
  • The Big To-Do (2010) No. 22 US, No. 61 UK
  • Go-Go Boots (2011) No. 35 US No. 58 UK
  • English Oceans (2014)
Live albums
  • Alabama Ass Whuppin' (2000)
  • Live From Austin, TX (2009)
  • Live At Third Man (2011)
  • Sometimes Late At Night EP (2011)
  • The Fine Print: A Collection of Oddities and Rarities (2009)
  • Ugly Buildings, Whores, and Politicians: Greatest Hits 1998-2009 (2011)
  • "Bulldozers and Dirt"/"Nine Bullets" (1996)
  • "Never Gonna Change" (2004)
  • "Aftermath USA" (2006)
  • "A Blessing and a Curse" (2006)
  • "Self-Destructive Zones" (2008)
  • "A Ghost to Most" (2008)
  • "The Righteous Path" (2008)
  • "This Fucking Job" (2010, retitled "Working This Job" for radio and music video channels)
  • "Your Woman Is A Livin' Thing"/"Just Maybe" (2010)
  • "The Thanksgiving Filter"/"Used To Be A Cop" (2010)

Personal life

Hood has been married two times. He has two children, Ava Ruth Hood and Emmett Hood, and has lived in Athens, Georgia since April 1, 1994.


External links

  • (official site)
  • on Twitter