Bronco - біографія, альбоми, пісні, кліпи

For the Mexican band, see Grupo Bronco.

Bronco were an English rock/country band signed to Island & Polydor Records 1969-1973.


Formed August 1969 by Jess Roden following his split from The Alan Bown Set, Bronco were signed to Island Records by Guy Stevens and, after initially recording tracks at Olympic Studios with him, recorded their first album – Country Home – at Island's own Basing Street Studios during 1970 with the final mix being overseen by Paul Samwell-Smith. The group similarly recorded their second album Ace of Sunlight at Basing Street (1971) which was produced by the band and Richard Digby Smith.

Following a serious motorway accident between Cheltenham and Bristol (in which the group's crew – Dick Hayes and Alan Stone – and drummer Pete Robinson and bass-player John Pasternak were badly injured) and a later, ill-fated West Coast of America tour, Roden left the band after a final British tour with label-mates Mott The Hoople and John Martyn in the spring of 1972 to start a solo career. Guitarist Robbie Blunt soon followed and the remaining members drafted in Paul Lockey on vocals (who Kevyn Gammond knew from Band of Joy) and Dan Fone on guitar. This incarnation of Bronco signed to Polydor and released one album, Smoking Mixture.

Bronco's bass player John Pasternak died of a heart attack in September 1986. Led Zeppelin's Robert Plant fronted a tribute event for Pasternak in December of that year that featured Plant and The Big Town Playboys, and concluded with an ensemble band featuring Plant, Jimmy Page on guitar and Jason Bonham on drums.

Two Bronco tracks are featured on Island records compilation albums: "Love" appears on Bumpers released in 1970 and "Sudden Street" appears on El Pea (1971).

"Time Slips Away" was included on the Island Records compilation Meet On The Ledge, released as part of Island's 50th anniversary in 2009.

Singer-songwriter Clifford T. Ward guests on their début album Country Home. Trevor Lucas sings back-up vocals on Ace of Sunlight. Both Ian Hunter and Mick Ralphs from Mott The Hoople also guest on Ace of Sunlight.


  • Kevyn Gammond - guitar, vocals (1969-1973)
  • John Pasternak - bass (1969-1973; died 1986)
  • Pete Robinson - drums, harmonica (1969-1973)
  • Robbie Blunt - guitar (1969-1972)
  • Jess Roden - vocals, acoustic guitar (1969-1972)
  • Dan Fone - guitar, keyboards, vocals (1972-1973)
  • Paul Lockey - vocals, guitar (1972-1973)


Country Home
1970 Label: Island ILPS 9124
1. Civil Of You Stranger
2. Love
3. Misfit On Your Stair
4. Bumpers West
5. Home
6. Well Anyhow
7. Time (So Long Between)

Ace Of Sunlight
1971 Label: Island ILPS 9161
1. Amber Moon
2. Time Slips Away
3. Some Uncertainty
4. Woman
5. New Day Avenue
6. Discernible
7. Sudden Street
8. Joys & Fears

Smoking Mixture
1973 Label: Polydor 2383 215
1. Steal That Gold
2. Tennessee Saturday Night
3. Tell Me Why
4. Attraction
5. Southbound State Express
6. Turkey In The Straw
7. Zonker
8. Blueberry Pie
9. Strange Awakening

Hidden Masters : The Jess Roden Anthology
Label: HiddenMasters HM 3001 (2013) – contains a number of previously unreleased tracks by Bronco (including)
– Lazy Now – a different mix to the original 7" single mix released Summer 1970
– All The Love I Sing (Love) – a different mix of the song that was included on Country Home
– New Day Avenue – a different mix to the song that was included on Ace Of Sunlight
– Bumpers West – a different mix of the song that was included on Country Home
– Sudden Street – a different mix of the song that was included on Ace Of Sunlight
– Joys And Fears – a different mix of the song that was included on Ace Of Sunlight



External links

  • discography at Discogs