Short Cross - біографія, альбоми, пісні, кліпи

From Sandston, Virginia, this band evolved out of the Hustlers, whose members included, at various stages, ex-Reactors Steve Hicks and ex-Outlaws Butch Owens alongside core members Velpo Robertson, Gray McCalley and Ben Luck. The latter left to join the Barracudas, of A Plane View LP fame.

Their rare eponymous album recorded in 1972 can best be described as heavy psychedelic blues, at its purest on Suicide Blues. There’s plenty of good guitar work throughout, Wastin’ Time, Just Don’t Care, Till We Reach The Sun and Hobo Love Song all have their share, whilst Ellen is a slow bluesy ballad. The album lacks sufficient originality to make it special but if this musical genre is where you’re at you shouldn’t be disappointed.

Short Cross - Arising in 1972 (USA, Heavy Psychedelic Rock)

Artist: Short Cross

Location: USA

Album: Arising

Year: 1972

Genre: Heavy Psychedelic Rock

Duration: 57:54 (with bonuses)

The only album from a suburb of Richmond - Sandston (Sandston, State of Virginia). Since the late 60s, were known in his district like The Hustlers, and had been “assigned” to such a small label Grizly … The smaller label - the louder the name … Complete biography of the archive … Very worthy, in my opinion … Only I’m still not clear what name the leader of the group - guitarist / vocalist Velpo … Richardson or Robertson? Robertson or Richardson? Perhaps the vote? And then let him - his name is … Just kidding, but he is a master - excellent …


All tracks written by Velpo Richardson except where noted.

01. Nothin ‘But A Woman - 5:25

02. Wastin ‘Time (Gray McCalley, Velpo Richardson) - 3:45

03. Suicide Blues - 7:01

04. Just Don’t Care - 4:27

05. On My Own - 4:57

06. Till We Reach The Sun - 4:53

07. Ellen - 5:50

08. Hobo Love Song - 4:47


09. On My Own (stereo mix of single A-side) - 2:49

10. Marching Off To War (stereo mix of single B-side) - 2:57

11. That’s Her Train (unreleased) - 2:54

12. Bomb (unfinished demo, mono) - 4:04

13. Before It Rains (unfinished demo, mono) - 3:28


- Velpo Richardson - lead vocals, lead & rhythm & bottle-neck & acoustic guitar, piano

- Butch Owens - organ, piano, Moog, vocals

- Dudley “Bird” Sharp - bass, vocals

- Gray McCalley - drums, percussion, lead vocals (02)

- Steve Hicks - bass (09-11)

- Nick Colleran - slide guitar (09)

- Dave Herren - producer